Staff and Committee 2015/2016


The committee currently employs the following staff to run the playgroup on a day to day basis.

Playgroup Leader: Mrs Julie Lennox Bachelor of Education (2:1) (Currently on maternity leave)

Temporary Playgroup Leader: Mrs Heather Vance


Morning Session Staff

Elizabeth Folliard NVQ Level 3

Vivien Johnston NVQ Level 3

Siobhan McVey NVQ Level 3

Carmel Gallagher NVQ Level 3


Afternoon Session Staff

Joanne Devlin NVQ Level 3

Breda Maynes Qualified Teacher


Caretaker – position vacant

We welcome students to the playgroup and value their contribution.

In addition to our staff we also have an assigned Social Worker Carla Taggart who keeps us up to date on childcare issues.

We are also registered and inspected by the Department of Education for Northern Ireland and we are required to follow and implement the Curriculum Guidance for Pre-School Education.  Early years inspectors visit the group every few years.  Our previous inspection was in November 2009 and we were awarded outstanding. We are currently awaiting the results of this years inspection.

We also employ the services of Ann Dixon an Independent Early Years Advisor who visits us once a month providing staff training, advice on the curriculum and help with other playgroup matters.

Not forgetting as well our wonderful volunteer helpers and handymen who often give up their spare time to help us out.


Playgroup Committee

Discovering Kids Playgroup is a registered charity and therefore has to be run by a voluntary parental committee in conjunction with the Playgroup Leader and staff.

Our committee is made up of a dedicated group of parents from all walks of life who use their everyday skills to assist in the running of the playgroup.

It takes lots of work to keep the playgroup up and running and the committee do a lot behind the scenes that other parents will not see on a day to day basis.

The committee meets informally approximately every 4-6 weeks and are in charge of the employment and management of staff, playgroup finances, fundraising, health and safety, maintenance of the building and many more little jobs associated with running a small business.

At the Playgroup AGM in May new committee members are voted in and we are always pleased to welcome new faces as fresh skills and contacts are always really useful.


Discovering Kids Playgroup Committee 2015/2016

Chairperson – Mr Seamus McCrystal

Secretary – Christine McDonald

Assistant Secretary

Treasurer – Sandie Marshall

Assistant Treasurer – Rhonda Burns

Staff Liaison – Seamus McCrystal & Ciara Manwaring

Child Protection Officers – Seamus McCrystal

Committee Members –  Kellie Andrews,Peggy McVey, Ciara Mainwaring, Pauline Mallon

Every year some members of the committee leave as their children progress onto school
and so we are always keen to have new parents join.  Although the staff ensure our children receive a wonderful preschool education without a committee it cannot happen. Please help us to help your children – it is them who will benefit from your assistance.

Contact numbers for the chairperson and committee members are available in the playgroup or email us if you have any queries and would like to join the committee.